Splendor da ciel  /  La Morra
Rediscovered Music from a Florentine Trecento Manuscript


Expected: 2.11.2018


The Chapter Archive of San Lorenzo in Florence houses a manuscript which served to record church properties. However, its parchment leaves originally belonged to a music manuscript compiled around 1410–20 in Florence. Later, the music was erased to create space for new content. Although its musical origins are known for over thirty years, its 216 compositions have been considered largely illegible. Recently, scholars and scientists from the University of Hamburg were able to render it visible again, using the technology of multispectral imaging. The San Lorenzo Palimpsest, as the collection is known today, is an invaluable source of secular polyphonic music composed between the fourteenth and the beginning of the fifteenth centuries. The anthology not only includes new readings for compositions known from other contemporary manuscripts, but contains completely unknown works by Florentine composers. La Morra breathes new life into these rediscovered musical treasures, most of which are recorded here for the first time.

1. Donna s’io ò errato   [4:20]

2. Douls m’est amer   [2:11]
Anonymous - Corina Marti & Michał Gondko

3. Soiez liez   [4:07]
Anonymous - Doron Schleifer, Michał Gondko & Natalie Carducci

4. Dopo ch’i’ so   [2:50]
Corina Marti & Natalie Carducci

5. Poc’ hanno di mirar   [3:30]
Paolo da Firenze - Doron Schleifer, Ivo Haun de Oliveira & Corina Marti

6. A’ piè del monte   [2:21]
Anna Miklashevich & Roman Melish

7. Lasso dolente   [7:31]

8. Dicovi per certança   [3:18]
Doron Schleifer & Natalie Carducci

9. Sotto l’imperio   [3:12]
Jacopo da Bologna - Corina Marti, Michał Gondko & Natalie Carducci

10. Splendor da ciel   [6:08]
Doron Schleifer & Ivo Haun de Oliveira

11. Le souvenir de vous dame   [1:57]
Anonymous - Corina Marti & Michał Gondko

12. A Febo Damn’e   [5:02]
Doron Schleifer, Roman Melish & Ivo Haun de Oliveira

13. Ihesu salvator / Quo vulneratus   [1:36]
Anna Miklashevich, Doron Schleifer & Natalie Carducci

14. Si nichil actuleris / In pretio pretium   [2:03]
Doron Schleifer, Roman Melish & Ivo Haun de Oliveira

15. O tu, cara sciença mia, Musica   [5:27]
Giovanni da Cascia - Anna Miklashevich & Roman Melish

16. Uom ch’osa di veder   [2:43]
Paolo da Firenze

17. Amor mi stringe assai   [5:16]
Paolo da Firenze

℗ 2018 Outhere